Addendum: The List reaches out…

I have been totally overwhelmed and touched by the response to my not-quite-completed 30 Things To Do Before I’m 30 List. Clearly I’m surrounded by people who love a challenge!

The fact the framed copy of the list is covered in fingerprints might have been the first clue that my friends were keen to see items being ticked. Combine that with the gifts of horse riding and a wad of instant scratchies and I’m not sure why I’m so surprised.

But I can’t tell you how amazing it’s been to receive some of the emails and messages I’ve had this week. With suggestions for items already ticked (and missed by me!) or tips on how to complete more items!

So this is my addendum…

The first note came from my older brother. Living on the other side of the world, he’s a reader from afar. And a boy (obviously!), which means I didn’t think he’d take much notice. But in fact he was quite on the ball and pointed out the fact that just last week I knocked off Number 20: “Be a TV/Movie Extra”. Which is true, coz I did get my head on the tele last week. It’s not exactly what I had in mind when I wrote that particular point (I was thinking more along the lines of drinking a milkshake in the Bayside Diner…), but hey! So yes, I was an extra, even if it was just for the weather…

I positioned myself front and centre, with everybody’s favourite weather man Tim Bailey, whooping and clapping as he read the live weather from one of my work restaurants. And yes, I was terrified I was going to get a pizza dough dropped on my head…

Nice work Charlie! And thank you also for being my big brother and saying that “surely you’ve done many times”, Number 21: “Make a dazzling entrance…”

Is that not the loveliest thing to hear from your brother? Surely yes. But though I’ve racked my brains to find such an occasion, I still have not made the kind of entrance I’m aiming for. So thank you Charlie, but I have not dazzled yet!

Next up was my friend Katis who offered her assistance in helping me complete not one, but two more items on the list. And I have to say that her proposed trip to Margaret River does sound pretty fabulous. Watch this space…
All of this made me look at the list in a new light (god damn it, I would not sell myself short!) and I realised there was another I could tick. Number 17: “Face my greatest fear…”. Strangely, I was waiting to be terrified before I decided that a fear was “great” enough to be faced, but in truth I am terrified of heights and have most definitely faced that fear more than once – at the top of the Eiffel Tower, at the Tahune Air Walk in Tasmania, crossing from spire to spire on the Sagrada Familia, climbing the Harbour Bridge and having dinner at the top of Sydney’s Centrepoint Tower. Why on earth I continue to put myself in these heightened situations I have no idea, but I cannot be accused of not staring into the black eyes of fear!

To top all of this off, I received a message that was completely unexpected, unbelievably generous and probably the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me. An old friend, someone I have not seen for a year or so, but a person who I have shared many laughs with, reached out to tell me that I can tick off Number 30: “Leave my mark. Somewhere. Somehow.”

In this world of social media, it’s easy to forget that even when we are not in contact with people, we are still so connected. So when I received this message from Pen, saying she reads my blog and follows my other social media pursuits on instagram etc, I am not ashamed to say, I shed a little tear. This was the message…

“…I for one am inspired to be more creative and to try something new everytime I read your latest blog. I think it takes a lot to publish your life and allow people to read it, judge it, comment on it, enjoy it – whatever. So it may not be leaving your mark on a grand scale, but it certainly counts! You can totes cross it off the list. Just wanted to let you know xx”

When I read something like that, it makes me realise that when I write my blog, it’s not just for me. There are people out there reading my words and that is a damned amazing thing. Inspiring. A reason to keep doing it. So thank you Pen. And I am crossing it off!

Bringing my total now to 19.

Not a bad little adjustment!

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Addendum: The List reaches out…

  1. Susan Bird says:

    Hi Lizzie, new post please??

Leave a Reply

