In A Minute #7

They say silence is golden. I’m not so sure. I am feeling purple with guilt (green with envy, red with anger, purple with guilt… that works right?) about my silence on T&T. I have several half written posts, but I just can’t seem to focus for long enough to finish one.

Excuses excuses, I know.

So, right now, I am…

Reading…… Emma by Jane Austen. In a bid to tick another thing of my 30 Before 30 list (Number 22: read more classics), I took on this classic. I have enjoyed the movie adaptations – the 1996 film with Gwyneth (my celebrity BFF crush) and of course “I hope not sporadically” Clueless – so was looking forward to tackling the story of the meddling-matchmaking Emma Woodhouse in print. I know classics are classics for a reason, but I am bogged down in the midst of dinner parties and garden strolls. Bring on the end and the moment Mr Knightly proclaims his love!

Listening…… to other people talk on the bus. Eavesdropping. Although it’s not really eavesdropping if you can’t actually avoid hearing whether Sam will “…get the promotion that he deserves, because he worked so hard for it and I’ve spent so many nights at home on my own, while he worked late and I’ve been so supportive and I just want him to acknowledge that, but I know that he’s stressed and I just want him to get the stupid promotion so we can go back to choosing the new tiles for our bathroom and…”. The thing is, there’s no sign on the bus that says “No mobile phones” and until I was recently “tsk tsk’d” by an angry old man, while talking about my plans for cheese on toast for dinner, I often used my bus commute for catch up calls. But after conducting a casual survey on the matter, it seems we are more like our UK friends who prefer to ride The Tube in silence. So unless it’s the juicy story of when “John in Sales found an email that the boss wrote to Suzie in Accounts & it wasn’t about spreadsheets, if you know what I mean…!”, then silence on the bus is golden.

Watching…… Pygmalion. Last night I headed into the darkness to watch the Sydney Theatre Company’s production of George Bernard Shaw’s classic. With simplicity in sets, props & costume, it left the actors nothing to hide behind. And they nailed it. Eliza Doolittle & Professor Henry Higgins were spectacular. The comic timing, the raw emotion and the moral quandary at the heart of the story were beautifully portrayed. And all the big lines delivered… “The great secret, Eliza, is not having bad manners or good manners or any other particular sort of manners, but having the same manner for all human souls: in short, behaving as if you were in Heaven, where there are no third-class carriages, and one soul is as good as another.”

Buying…… a pie dish. With a steam bird. Inspired by the movie Waitress, I’ve become mildly obsessed with “pie”.

Making…… Pies. See point above. Waitress is the story of Jenna, a waitress at Joe’s Pie Diner, where her job includes creating pies with crazy names, inspired by her life, such as Marshmallow Mermaid Pie, Falling In Love Chocolate Pie, Kick In The Pants Pie and Car Radio Pie. But the pie that really got me excited was the “Bad Baby Pie”. Really just a quiche, it’s all about the layer of brie cheese on the bottom and the pile of bacon in the middle.

Definitely bad. But oh, so good.

Next up will be “Earl Murders Me Because I’m Having an Affair Pie”… It makes sense if you’ve seen the movie.

Planning…… a trip to Bali for some R&R. Ticking off more items on the 30 Before 30 list (Number 1: have an island holiday & Number 4: visit a country in Asia), I’m stepping out of my comfort zone and taking a solo vacation to an Indonesian island. In need of a holiday and the chance for some inward focus, I’m heading to Bali to soak up some culture – cooking courses, bike rides, massages & spa treatments, rice fields, cocktails by the beach, books by the pool and glorious sleep. Slightly nervous about journeying to a third world country on my own, the thing that really terrifies me, are the monkeys. I HATE monkeys.

Loving…… that my bestie is getting married. When Millsy popped the question to my dear friend Ween, not only did I jump out of my skin with excitement, but I went and stocked up on Bridal Magazines. Upon gifting these to Ween for planning purposes, I issued the following condition: please return them to me post wedding, so I can add them to my collection. Yes, I have a bridal magazine collection. It may live in the boot of my car & haunt me every time I turn a sharp bend, but I consider it research for a future career. Webbo’s Weddings. Who wouldn’t hire me? Ween?

Being…… obsessed with #febphotoaday. I’ve previously mentioned my obsession with iPhone app Instagram – the quickest way to make an amateur photographer into a pro. Or at least that’s what I tell myself as I select filters and borders to transform my photos… Feb Photo a Day is a challenge set by Sydney blogger FatMumSlim – she created a category for every day of February and to participate, all you have to do is post a photo that fits each new category each day. Fun and challenging. Yep, I’m obsessed.

Fact of the Day…… 2012 is a leap year and has 366 days. For all those people who are born on 29th February, I wish you a VERY happy birthday. This year you can celebrate for real.

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In A Minute #7

  1. genevieve says:

    I’ve been wondering where you’ve been Lizzie, I’ve missed your blogs! You’re not alone in loving the movie Waitress, its one of my faves. Your Bad Baby Pie looks amazing!

  2. I know Gen, I have been very hopeless lately & just never seem to have the time to sit down and write! But I am on a mission to get back to regular posts from now on! It’s nice to know I’m missed though – thanks! Hope you’re well.
    PS – do I recall you once saying you have a little thing for Nathan Fillion? He is rather lovely isn’t he…!!

    • genevieve says:

      Well, as an eager reader I certainly hope you get back to regular posts! I totally know what you mean though about struggling to find the time to sit down and write – I’ve been much the same lately. Although I’ve been inspired by shaggygirl’s recent efforts to blog pretty much every day, so here’s hoping that motivation jumps up and smacks me in the face in the near future so that I can also get back to writing more regularly. As for Nathan Fillion….yes. And yes. Just delightful.

Leave a Reply

