Brown paper packages tied up with string…

 

…these are a few of my favourite things.

The plan was to start the year on the front foot, organised, time rich and full of creative inspiration… Don’t you just love new year’s resolutions?

So I’m a little behind with my year in review post…

Alas, the creativity is there, sometimes stunted in growth by the everyday, my feet are pedicured in pink & ready to move forward, plans are in planning, piles are piled, lists are being crossed and time still ticks. So here I am, determined to write more often and with vim. But first, let’s look back…

When thinking about how to gather my favourite things (with Julie Andrews warbling in my head) from a year filled with excitement and adventure, new things in abundance and more of the same old good stuff, I figured the best thing to do would be to highlight the best of the things I already love. So this is a list of my favourite favourite things from two-thousand-and-eleven. That makes sense right…?

Favourite Recipe…… Roast Chicken & Sweetcorn Soup from LEON. Yes, you read correctly. A soup. Not a pasta, or risotto or chocolate pudding or fluffy soufflé, but a simple and deliciously tasty soup.LEON – a ‘fast’ food restaurant chain inLondon – was “founded around the idea that food can both Taste Good and Do you Good”. I can assure you this soup tastes good and have no doubt it does me good!

Favourite Meal (in or out)…… Veal Saltimbocca and chilled Campari & blood orange, sitting at a mosaic table, under a big, old Italian tree, in the middle ofTuscany, with my family. This is followed closely by the incredible BLAT (bacon, lettuce, avo, tomato) on turkish that I had from the kiosk in Lennox Head. Sometimes it’s simply the simple things.

Favourite Restaurant…… O.M.G. How do I choose? You’ve read the reviews, seen the photos, some of you have even been there with me. I’ve eaten at some pretty fantastic restaurants in the last 12 months, but I think in terms of the overall experience, I’d have to say my favourite was High Street Bistro. The tucked away bistro had it all in terms of food, wine, service and atmosphere. And that salmon brandade was to die for.

Favourite Cocktail…… The Amaretto Sour at Honey Rider. Apparently now I drink cocktails. This is new. From home-made Bellini’s in Tuscany, to fire-and-brimstone bubblers at the Treehouse and spherical ice-bombs at White Hart, I have supped some pretty and (pretty) boozy concoctions. But the cherry garnish that tastes like the medicine you had as a kid and sits atop the Amaretto Sour, is the thing that gets me every time.

Favourite Book…… Again, where do I start? From chick lit to classics to young adult fiction to travelogues and memoirs, I read it all in 2011. But the book that stands out the most would have to be the controversial Aussie story – Christos Tsiolkas’s The Slap. I couldn’t put it down, I couldn’t like any character, I couldn’t stop wondering if it made me a bad person to favour one side of the moral dilemma over another, I couldn’t wait for it to end. Forget about the TV series, just read the book.

Favourite Song…… Paradise by Coldplay. If I could be a groupie for any band, these boys would be it. Plus, it’s no great burden that I could probably be friends with Gwyneth if I was “with the band”. I waited with bated breath for the new Coldplay album and as expected, was not disappointed. The fact that Chris Martin rode a unicycle in an elephant suit certainly helped to win my heart.

Favourite Movie…… Larry Crowne. I am not ashamed to admit that my favourite style of movie is a rom-com. I am a romantic. There, I said it. And if I could slot myself into half of the romantic comedies doing the Hollywood rounds, wouldn’t life be just grand? But I can’t, so I watch them instead. And I laugh and I cry and I feel my heart swell when the boy gets the girl (or vice versa). In Larry Crowne, an unexpectedly sexy Tom Hanks plays a gentle, kind, funny and completely unjaded middle-aged-sudo-geek. He wins the heart of pretty much everyone (myself included, clearly), but most especially of an angry, jaded, margarita-chugging Julia Roberts. Rom-com heaven.

Favourite Thing…… My most favourite thing from the year in review? Considering it was a year that included a dinner date with Fast Ed, a couple of special weddings with bridesmaid duties, a royal wedding (no bridesmaid duty there…), a hoon in a Mini Cooper, several big birthday celebrations for friends and family, a European holiday, an encounter with my future (via a deck of tarot cards), a move to a new industry and a change in career, many many moments of fun with my girlfriends, daily holiday ice-creams with my niece, the excitement of new engagements and weddings to come, the celebration of naming my chubby nephew, the flutter & flirtation of meeting handsome men, the constant love of time spent in my kitchen, the countless experiences I’ve had in Sydney’s spectacular restaurants and so much more, I think my favourite thing in the whole of 2011 was writing my blog. Tablecloths and Talking is me. It’s my adventures and the stories I have to tell. And I love that you read my ramblings. I promise to try and make you laugh even more this year!

x

 

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brown paper packages tied up with string…

  1. Caro Webster says:

    Lovely post Miss Lizzie. x

Leave a Reply

