Jazz City Diner – sticky fingers, Ella Fitzgerald and an unread novel.

The Date: Wednesday 23rd November 2011

My Date: Mel, Bec & Kajsa – the BOOKclub girls. It’s official. BOOKclub is as much about food as it is about books. Not only do we ponder our next book for literary satisfaction, but it’s become something of a necessity to choose venues that will satisfy our foodie urges as well. Even more so, when the majority of us haven’t actually read the BOOKclub book…

What Is It: Jazz City Diner opened a year ago and brings New Orleans inspired modern American cuisine to Sydney, in a retro diner setting. Tiny and off the main restaurant drag, it’s filled with regulars as much as with curious hungrys and lovers of a good burger.

We Ate:

  • Main: Texas Chili Cheeseburger x 3; Cheeseburger; onion rings – Mel and Bec added guacamole to their Texas Chili burgers, I added bacon to mine and Kajsa had the Cheeseburger. The Texas Chili’s included some pretty spectacular pickle relish that exploded out the back with every bite and ran down our fingers in a sticky mess. When we asked for a knife to cut our burgers in half (always try to be ladylike…), we were met with looks of horror! I guess the whole experience is the challenge of finishing your burger without losing the lot down your front. All burgers are served with sweet potato fries, but I swapped mine for a side of onion rings. Delish!
  • Dessert: Banana Cream Pie with Caramel Drizzle – Even though we were all moaning with the pressure on our stretched tummies, we’d seen the banana cream pie head to another table and knew we couldn’t leave without trying it. We ordered two to share between the four of us and momentarily stopped the moaning while we silently devoured the creamy banana goodness. With chunks of banana, a crispy but chewy base and the caramel drizzle, it’s the kind of dessert you’ll always have room for (even if it means loosening the belt a notch or two!).

We Drank: pink! Jarritos Guava. Had I ever heard of it? No. Never. Did I see someone else with a big, pink drink and want? Yes. I did. And like a child fixated, I asked our lovely waitress to “bring me the pink drink”. Please. Artificially flavoured, hell yes. It was sugary pink goodness. Did it mean I was entirely without order envy when Mel had a Dr Pepper? No, but she was kind enough to let me have a sip. Sugar. Literally. It made me shudder. I think the straw stood up without aid…

Cost: Cheap. We spent $30 each. Granted, that’s without any booze. Burgers $15-$18, Specialties $20-$35, Desserts $7-$12.

Loved:
Sitting on the diner stools at the bar overlooking the open kitchen.
Chef and Owner Dan McGuirt. In the kitchen, on the floor. He moved easily between flipping burgers and chatting to his regulars.
Chili Cheese Fries. Fries, topped with chili beef & grated cheese, then blow torched. O.M.G.
Sticky fingers. Unavoidable and wholly embraced.
The posters of legends like Billie Holiday and the music to match.
The booth TVs. Old school. Distracting. Totally diner.
Our super-friendly waitress in traditional pink diner girl attire!

Loathed: That I didn’t have the courage to try the Shrimp Corn Dogs or the Jamaican Jerk Chicken Wings. And the fact that I didn’t BYO some Wet Ones. Sticky fingers are fun while eating, not so fun on the drive home.

The Final Word: Where do I get me one of those pink diner uniforms?! Take me to back toNew Orleans… Or at least to inner citySydney and next time Gumbo and Fried Green Tomatoes.

Jazz City Diner
238 Crown Street
DARLINGHURST NSW 2010
Tel: (02) 9332-2903
Lunch: Tues-Sat 12pm to 2pm
Dinner: Wed-Sat 6pm to 10pm
BYO (with corkage)
http://www.jazzcitydiner.com/

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

