To save or not to save? That is the question…

 

Recently I did some border hopping. Don’t panic, there were no illegal substances involved, no strip searches or fruit fly. Just a body clock gone haywire.

Daylight saving. Like cats, baked beans, Holdens and coffee, you either love it or you hate it.

Me, I’m a fan. A big fan. Mostly because my days feel longer when I get home from work and it’s still light, but generally because when daylight saving starts, you know that Summer is just around the corner. And everyone knows Summer means parties, friends, family, Christmas, beach, holidays, Pimms and stone fruit. Among other things…

So what I don’t understand is why the state of Queensland – which sort of epitomises Summer – doesn’t participate in daylight saving. If nothing else, it proves my theory that the sun has gone to their heads and Queenslanders are simply a little bit crazy.

Nevertheless, I booked my ticket to the Gold Coast, departing Sydney at 8.10pm and arriving at 8.30pm. A 20 minute flight? Was I breaking the sound barrier? No, just heading backwards in time to AEST. Not AEDST.

By the time I sat down to dinner at 9.30pm Gold Coast time, I had already eaten half my arm and my paper boarding pass. After all, it was 10 hours since I ate lunch on NSW time. A few wines and a well overdue catch up with Trent later and I was curling up at a reasonable 2am bedtime. No wait, it was an outrageous 3am back in NSW. I’d passed through the tired barrier and headed straight for jet lag. Who knew there was such a thing as ‘daylight saving lag’?

After a day spent in spend-thrift QLD (see what I did there? Opposite to saving is spending. Clever right? Yep… Lack of sleep gone to my head.), I headed back towards AEDST, aiming for just-south-of-the-border Lennox Head. I was convinced that the perceptive and ever human-like iPhone would show me when we crossed the border into NSW by automatically picking up satellite signals and updating my clock, after all there’s no clear sign you’ve crossed the border at Tweed Heads, so why shouldn’t Apple be the one to break the news. But sadly not and as I drove further into NSW, I was still functioning on Queensland time.

Or at least I was until I hit a wall at dinner that night and took myself to bed at 8pm. No wait, that’s 9pm now I’m back in NSW. Such confusion.

Surely after a decent 8 hours, things would have returned to normal by the next day. Alas no.

That night, I went to bed the following day. Yes, before I knew it, the Sunday sun was rising and I had yet to catch my zzz’s. I’d come this far so there was no way I was going to cave in to my NSW tendencies and go to bed. After all, if I was in Queensland, it would only have been 4.30am right?

So I hit the beach and watched a glorious sun rise. In my PJs.

No matter which way you look at it, or on which side of the border you are, there’s nothing quite like watching the sun come up over an Australian beach.

By this stage, my body clock had gone completely haywire and I took myself off for a nap. But it wasn’t just me and my body clock struggling to figure it all out, so were most of my weekending companions. They spent the best part of Sunday morning trying to figure out what time they needed to leave NSW in order to catch a flight departing from Queensland.

The lesson in all of this? The sun will rise no matter whether it’s being saved below the border or spent above. The best way to cure the lag is a glass of wine with friends every day you’re north of the line. Don’t believe everything you’re told about iPhones. And Queenslanders really are crazy…

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To save or not to save? That is the question…

  1. Kate says:

    Great blog my love!! It is definitely confusing!! Poor people living in nsw & woking in qld! Great in mornings, not great at all in evenings!
    As i see it, for the problem you encounter, your only solution appears to be FAR more trips to sunny lennox head to assist in your acclimatisation to this wierd phenomen!! Xx

  2. Katrina says:

    Lizzo, I feel your pain. The first year living in QLD and not having daylight saving I felt like I was 1 hour and 20 years behind the rest of the country. I fell into some kind of depression. The real reason QLD’ers don’t want daylight saving is because it is so damn hot and humid up here that they can’t wait for the sun to go down so it cools down. I never thought I would say this but after living here for 2 years, I kind of agree now.

Leave a Reply

