The end of Winter and the beginning of new obsessions…

August proved to be a sunny and extremely busy end to a very chilly winter. Last month I…

Settled into my new job, including freaking about having so much to learn & loving my colleagues for being patient & fun.
Hit the Byron Bay Writers Festival, flashing my VIP pass at all possible opportunities and kicking back to listen to comedians, artists, musicians & historians, all writers of books.
Spent a girls weekend in Lennox Head, home to the friendliest people in NSW and the best BLAT sandwich I’ve ever eaten.
Was reminded that laughter really is the best medicine.
Bumped into old colleagues and realised I truly have moved on and moved forward. A satisfying feeling.
Enjoyed the perks of my new job and stuffed myself at a Steakhouse for a mid-week dinner. It was good medium rare.
Spent an hilarious night coming up with an elaborate plan to make a man jealous.
Was unable to carry out the (almost) foolproof plan, due to a lack of willing volunteers!
Began a long & frustrating search for tapioca. Or sago.
Harassed my friends as part of my search, asking anyone who would listen which aisle at the supermarket they would look for tapioca/sago in.
Cursed Woolworths management for undertaking a redesign at my local Woollies during my search. I struggled to find bread & milk in the new configuration, let alone tapioca/sago.
Downloaded the Woolworths app. The search ended. A new obsession began.
Read two wonderful books, filled with beautiful characters. The Brooklyn Follies by Paul Auster and Bitter Chocolate by Lesley Lokko.
Splashed out on cocktails. With ice spheres.

Had my 13 year old friend for a slumber party & loved that it gave me an excuse to watch Mandy Moore movies!
Sat & read What to Expect When You’re Expecting with my 8 months pregnant friend. An eye-opening experience…
Admired a dear friend who has had a shitty year and is just ploughing on, in only a way that she could. A beautiful person.
Took a trip down memory lane looking through old photographs.
Marvelled at how much we change over time. Was I really this wide-eyed baby?

Developed an obsession with yet another iPhone app – Instagram. Through a simple colour & tint change to any quick photo, I feel like a talented artist!

Spent a torturous hour in the living hell that is Spotlight Bondi Junction. Time I can never get back. Images I can’t un-see. How naïve I was to think it was just grannies & designers who shopped for fabric…
Experienced chicken in a bag. Yes, you’ve seen the ads. Do yourself a favour – this is one meal worth eating in a bag. Delish.
Had an unfortunate movie experience where the person behind me decided to commentate the whole movie. Apparently she was oblivious to the eyes in the back of my head giving her the death stare…
Spent a chilly evening drinking red wine, toasting marshmallows and laughing a lot in front of a roaring outdoor fireplace.

Talked up my totem tennis skills and then proceeded to lose several highly competitive games in a row. OK, so maybe I was the only one who thought it was competitive…
Donned hats and went exploring at the Willow Vale mill. A perfect way to spend a Sunday in the country with old friends.

Got all the proof I need that Spring is in the air.

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The end of Winter and the beginning of new obsessions…

  1. Mum says:

    Love it Lizzo! I remember that wide eyed baby – she was/is gorgeous!! I love the photo of you and Billie with hats in the garden.

    XX M

Leave a Reply

