In A Minute #5

Right now, I am…

Reading…… The Second-Last Woman in England by Maggie Joel. The first chapter is the end, then the story goes back in time 9 months. So now I’m dying to know what happens between now and the dramatic ending!

Listening…… to my upstairs neighbour. Unfortunately. I have to say, there really is nothing worse than listening to that echo-ing wee in the silence of the middle of the night.

Watching…… Hamish and Andy’s Gap Year and laughing til I almost cried. They are so much funnier on TV than on radio, especially coz we actually get to see them in the “track-sedos”. And they went catfish noodling and called their catch “Fishelle”. Classic.

Buying…… new shoes. And walking through the pain of wearing them in. Ouch.

Making…… bircher muesli. Whipped up the night before and left to brew overnight, it’s a quick, satisfying and super tasty way to start my day.

Planning…… how best to maximise my girls weekend at the Byron Bay Writers Festival. So many interesting sessions, so little time. Is it bad that my preferences mostly have to do with people talking about food? Followed by the interesting politicians of course…

Loving…… being back on public transport. I NEVER thought I’d say that! But it’s so nice to be able to read my book on the way to work again. Even if it is only a quick trip across the bridge, there’s usually just enough traffic for me to get in a chapter or two!

Being…… a kid again and enjoying boiled eggs and soldiers. I’ve finally managed to get the runny yolk cooking time down pat (put a room temperature egg into already boiling water for 5 minutes EXACTLY) and have been dipping my soldiers like a kid with a bunnykins egg cup…

Fact of the Day…… It was 1986 the last time the Wallabies beat the All Blacks at Eden Park in Auckland. Could this Saturday be the end of that 25 year hoodoo? Fingers crossed for a Gold Rush!

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In A Minute #5

  1. genevieve says:

    Lizzie – I love love love these little ‘in a minute’ posts that you do, they’re so great!! I’m with you on the Hamish and Andy thing – I’m a bit in love with both of them. And, Byron Bay Writers Festival? I had no idea it even existed but it sounds fab!!

  2. Mum says:

    Lizzie,

    You have prompted me to make burcher meusli tomorrow with the apples I picked from the trees up near the moat. They are the first to ripen for this autumn season – rather early!

    XXX

Leave a Reply

