The Burning House

A few months ago Foster Huntington (an NYC blogger) posted a list and a photo on his blog outlining the things he would take with him if his house was on fire. It created such a buzz, that he has turned it into an ongoing project – The Burning House.

The question is, “if your house was burning, what would you take with you? It’s a conflict between what’s practical, valuable and sentimental. What you would take reflects your interests, background and priorities. Think of it as an interview condensed into one question.”

Since it began, The Burning House has received hundreds of submissions from all around the world. I’ve sent my list, but it hasn’t been posted yet, as Foster makes his way through the backlog, posting a couple of new ones each day.

In the meantime, here is my list:

List:
• Blue Benzer cast iron pot – not a practical item in terms of weight, but I couldn’t bear to leave it behind.
• Photos of Mum and Dad.
• Anthropologie coffee cup – part of my daily ritual.
• 2011 Foodies’ Diary – cannot function without it.
• The Commonsense Cookery Book – because I have to take at least one cookbook from my hundreds, and this one has everything.
• True Pleasures by Lucinda Holdforth – I can read it and be swept away to the streets of Paris, forgetting my flaming troubles.
• Tri-colour pen – because one colour is not enough. And neither is two.
• Black tuxedo jacket – because I feel good when I wear it.
• Red & white striped scarf – because it’s warm and soft.
• My beautiful earrings inherited from Mum, still kept in their original Hardy Bros box.
• My favourite rings – because I’m not really me without them.
• Wallet.
• Passport – to prove me is me.
• iPhone – because it is just so cool. And has lots of people I can call and ask to camp on their couch.
• My specs – so I can see the fire I’m running away from.
• Laptop (not pictured) – it’s got all my writing and photos.
• Red Bag – for carrying all of the above.

What would you take?

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Burning House

  1. genevieve says:

    I’ve been thinking about this since I read it, and I just don’t think I could do it. I tried to think first of just one or two books that I would have to include and it was an impossible task. Basically I would just want to take everything. Which completely defeats the purpose….
    I love your list though Lizzie – you have a lovely combination of practicality and sentimentality!

  2. It’s an interesting concept The Burning House. Although people didn’t like it when I put one of my hunting guns in it, but it’s just a bit of fun, and I DO hunt for my food a fair bit!

Leave a Reply

