Dreaming in lemon…

 

I’ve had enough. I can’t take any more. I’m giving away lemons.

I’ve made ten jars of Lemon Marmalade and six jars of Meyer Lemon Curd.

I’ve cleaned sticky lemon splatter off my kitchen walls more times than I care to admit and I’ve winced at the sting of lemon juice in cuts enough times to almost have invented a new swear word.

And I still have 18 lemons in my fruit bowl.

#*%@!$*

That is my new swear word.

So as I say, I’m giving lemons away. Lemons and jars of home-made citrusy goodness.

And it is good. Even if I do say so myself. I got so excited when I taste tested the lemon curd that I squealed like a piglet. Yum!

And you know what, lemon curd is easy. It’s simply the juice of 6 lemons, some caster sugar, rather a large amount of butter, four eggs and a spoonful of corn flour.

Then you just whisk and whisk and whisk over medium heat until it turns thick and golden.

Then you taste test. Then you bottle it. And sometimes you need to taste test it again.

Coz it’s just so good.

And so easy.

I do have one tip though. Don’t make lemon curd (which requires constant attention and whisking) while you’re also trying to bottle marmalade. It can lead to burnt finger tips, unladylike language and a lot of sticky bench tops.

And so, with my impending holiday, I have had to gift the majority of the remaining lemons, to avoid a mouldy lemon mess in my fruit bowl upon return. You know the one I mean right? You go to pick up a bright yellow lemon at the top of the bowl only to discover the furry green mush underneath. What was once a solid citrus fruit, can quickly become something uglier than a rugby league player’s cauliflower ear…

x

PS – I also gifted all but one (my own) jar of lemon curd at BOOKclub tonight. I think they were happy to accept it as a bribe for letting me choose the next book…!

Speaking of, our last book was by far one of the most popular BOOKclub books ever and I have to recommend it to you all.

It’s an amazing story of strength in the face of a bizarre and life changing medical condition. And it will make you laugh and cry in equal measure.

PPS – I am about to head off on a Tuscan holiday, so the presence on my blog may be a little light-on over the next three weeks. I will do my best to publish photos of me sipping home made bellinis in the Italian sunshine…

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreaming in lemon…

  1. genevieve says:

    WOW – look at all that lemony goodness, you have been busy. And, omg I am sooooo jealous of you going on a Tuscan adventure…..

  2. Thanks Gen. You’re more than welcome to a jar!

  3. Pingback: the first rule of jar club…. « genevievearoundthecorner …

Leave a Reply

