In A Minute #3 (& competition results…)

I apologise for yet another small and insignificant post, but isn’t it true that small and insignificant is better than no post at all? I’m sure someone wise and famous said that…

The reason for my brief blogging over the last few weeks is heavy machinery. Sort of. I’ve been helping to organise a conference for a company that manufactures big machines – diggers, dump trucks, dozers – and tomorrow is go-time. I’ll be on-site chatting to men who love big things that dig & spend their life in fluoro yellow shirts. I’m excited.

I promise next week I’ll write more. I’ve got a few good half-written pieces on the go. You are going to LOVE them. I can just tell.

In the meantime, keeping it brief, I am…

Reading…… Domino: The Book of Decorating. A room-by-room guide to creating a home that makes you happy. Brings a smile to my face. The ideas are endless and the photos gorgeous. I’m thinking of a tin of paint and a feature wall…

Listening…… to Wayne Swan talk about the budget, angry people talk about Wayne Swan’s budget, frustrated people talk about the angry people and bored people trying to laugh about it all.

Watching…… MasterChef. There goes my week. I’ve only seen one episode, but apparently that’s all it takes. I’m hooked. Bring on the Masterclasses and more Gary Mehigan. Swoon.

Buying…… empty jars. Demand has outstripped supply and I can no longer empty the jars in my fridge fast enough to bottle the green tomato chutney and fig jam on my stove. Buying empty jars? The idea of it makes me shudder. All empty jar donations are most welcome!

Making…… Apple pies. Chunky apple pies. They were birthday apple pies. There were two. One had marmalade. One had rhubarb. Two pies. Eleven adults. No leftovers. I’m sorry there’s no photo. They were gone too quickly!

Planning…… the best way to help my friend Trent recover from the half marathon. Tea and cake? Water and fruit? Beer and pizza? I think I know the answer. Or at least the best answer for us!

Loving…… the Winter weather. I’m snuggling down and sleeping deeply. Sure, getting out of a hot shower into a freezing cold bathroom is not so fun. But hot chocs, hot water bottles and woolly blankets are the best.

Being…… ever so slightly disappointed. Sadly, even with all the support I got from you, I did not win the People’s Choice Award in the Sydney Writers Centre blogging competition. The guy that did win, received over 2500 votes. It was at least 1000 more votes than any other blog entered. Hmmmmm. It would not be incorrect to assume from this information that I did not stand a chance. But I am grateful for the opportunity and am sure I probably made it into the top ten… *insert delusions of grandeur here* Oh wait, I’m sure you’re dying to know what the winner’s blog is about. Well, you might be surprised to know (I sure was!) that it’s about motorbikes. Please wait while I pick my jaw up off the floor again. Yes, motorbikes.

Fact of the Day…… William and Kate the stuff dreams are made of. Millions of hearts were set a flutter the moment they kissed on the balcony. I don’t know one single person who wasn’t moved by the beauty, love and happiness at the Royal Wedding. Just look at them – so perfectly in love.

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In A Minute #3 (& competition results…)

  1. Have you been down to the Op Shop yet? Jars are usually there….and cheap tpp!

Leave a Reply

