Anything goes. And everything does. Looking into other people’s lives.

Humungous thanks to you all for being so awesomely supportive upon request!

I’ll admit, sentences like the above probably won’t win me any writing competitions (maybe prizes for made-up words though…), but all I know is I’m lucky to have you all in my blogging life. You allowed my sucking up and took up the call to arms and I am proud to report that my subscribers have doubled in a week. I’ve had wonderful feedback, telling me that I’ve made you laugh, that I’ve made you waste entire afternoons at your desk when you should have been working and that I’ve made you want to bake – bread, pavlova, cake, you name it.

All of that is a thousand times better than winning competitions. Though it’s been some time since I received a gold star or a blue ribbon, so the win would be lovely too…!

I don’t know about you, but when I went to place my vote (hey, there was no rule that said I couldn’t vote for myself!), I couldn’t help but check out the competition and though I think I have a pretty good understanding of the world of blogging and ‘social networking’, I was still amazed at the variety in the range of blogs up for the People’s Choice award.

Aussie bloggers can be anything from journalists to mothers. Good cooks, bad cooks. Healthy people, sick people. Happy people, sad people. Travellers, home bodies, dieters or dieticians.

In the space of a few hours I read about people renovating houses, battling the school run with three kids under 10, burning an omelette, whinging about our Prime Minister, cooking a 6 course degustation menu, eavesdropping in the supermarket checkout queue, dying their hair blue, raising money for rare diseases, moving across the world for new love, publishing a book, reviewing other peoples books, preaching feminist ideals, writing lists and setting goals, having babies, getting old, eating in restaurants, judging celebrities, defending celebrities, baking bread, feeding chooks, heading off on Easter holidays, avoiding Easter egg overdoses and much much more…

And on all of these musings, I of course then had my own opinions… can’t wait til I can do that, not ready to do that yet, been there done that, she is quite annoying, would rather eat it than cook it, always – an absolute must (the highlight of my week!), red maybe, but not blue, that reminds me – I must donate blood this month, brave/silly/romantic, mine (no), somebody elses (what did I spend the last 4 years doing?), that’s why we have BOOKclub, sounds good in theory but I like men who let me walk through doors first…, um hello?, I’m leaving that to all my friends at the moment, happens every year, once a week if I can manage it, one of my favourite past-times, let them defend themselves, a new obsession, the feathery bane of my childhood, I’m doing that tomorrow, it’s too late for that! and many many more…

And now you’re a part of it.

x

PS – have you seen the BONDS ad with Sarah Murdoch and a posse of ladies in black, dancing to a rock song? Does it not just make you want to dance around your living room in your undies? No? Just me then.

PPS – I watched Sixteen Candles for the first time ever tonight. Now I know why it’s a classic. Then I watched The Breakfast Club. It reminds me of my own teenage romance!

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

