In A Minute #1

I came across this idea a while ago and though it’s not unlike some of my monthly ‘what I’ve been doing” posts, I thought it could be fun to sum life up in a minute. So, on this day, today, I am…

Reading…… Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. And hearing the screeching Mrs Bennet from the BBC TV movie in my head every time the words “OH MR BENNETT!!!!!!” appear on the page.

Listening…… to the Buena Vista Social Club. Old men, sitting in directors chairs, wooing me. Oh, it works.

Watching…… “Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo”. A two part mini-series starting on ABC1 tonight. Can’t wait for Asher Keddie as Ita Buttrose.

Buying…… baby zucchinis (at 2 inches long, they are spectacularly cute!) and Poachers Pantry smoked chicken thighs from the North Sydney produce markets.

Making…… bread! I went in for a second attempt, this time using the fail-safe Commonsense Cookery book. Well, you should have heard the screams of excitement coming from my kitchen when I pulled a perfectly fluffy, golden loaf from my oven. Sliced while warm and spread thickly with butter, it made my first attempt look shameful. I think this bread thing could become a regular feature in my kitchen. So proud.

Planning…… to win the People’s Choice Award in the Best Blogs 2011 competition! Or at least giving it a red hot go! Please vote for me! Click on the “VOTE FOR ME NOW” badge on the right hand side of my blog & vote for “Tablecloths & Talking” (on the P-Z page). Thanks!

Loving…… my new necklace, bought in my friend’s shop in Dubbo. A combo of silver balls and coloured glass beads, it’s a little exotic.

Being…… full of admiration, for people who start their own business – full of optimism, risking everything and investing in a passion.

Fact of the Day…… Mum’s cousin was a finalist in the Archibald Prize with her portrait of Australia’s female Governor-General Quentin Bryce. Impressive.

x

About Tablecloths & Talking

Food. Friends. Fun. Preferably together. I love to eat, drink & be merry. I love to write. Tablecloths & Talking is me writing about doing the things I love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In A Minute #1

  1. Nicholas Cull says:

    Am in love with your BLOG. So as an Australian living in Germany I am now extremely homesick, thanks to all the deliciousness I can see here on your site. Mental note to self: Pavlova cookoff for one in Munich this weekend. So here is my thought, while I am busy with Pav in Germany, I thought it would be nice if you would reciprocate by cooking something German in Australia – shut up, seriously I can hear you screaming “get with the program Oprah!” My personal suggestion would be on a winters day, tackle roast pork, with stewed red cabbage (apples and cloves a must), and hand made bread dumplings (please research the German definition of a “dumpling”, which takes anything Asian, multiplied by 100 and rolled into a ball). It is supreme deliciousness, and consumption is recommended with a genuine German wheat beer dazu … be warned it is also a recipe for immediate sleeping post consumption.

    Ruf mich an wenn du ein Frage hast!

    • Aah Nicho, I miss you more than you miss Oz, I’m sure of it!
      I actually came across a recipe for Spetzle the other day, so have added it to my current list of upcoming things to cook. I was planning on doing it with veal, cabbage and a creamy mushroom sauce – will this suffice as a German enough meal?
      Good luck with the pav.
      love xxoo

Leave a Reply

